Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a high school student doing a lot of tenor jazz soloing and big band work, and am looking for a good metal mouthpiece to move up into that more professional sound, but I don't want to break the bank. What are your suggestions? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
294 Posts
A common metal mouthpiece is the Otto Link STM, and it's readily available and inexpensive. However, you certainly don't need a metal mouthpiece to give a "professional" sound. HR pieces are just as good for many players. The best advice is to go to the biggest music store you can and try as may pieces as possible.

·
Registered
726 Posts
Although it has been mentioned a few times, just in case you don't know, Link STM is well know to be "the reference" tenor mouthpiece, but it is also well know to be very inconsistent in quality. I bought two, and both of them are not symmetric, and of course, I bought them before I know the quality issue and didn't check thoroughly. So, it is a recommendation to buy the Link locally where you can pick the good one.

Alternatively, you can try Vandoren V16 metal mouthpieces. I want to try one, but can't find it locally. I read several reviews saying they play like a Link, but with much better quality control. Just something I read on the internet, so, not sure how true it is.

Another popular choice is Berg Larsen, it has different combination of baffle and facing, but it never work for me.

·
SOTW Columnist, Distinguished SOTW Member
23,135 Posts
You can get a better value in a HR mpc. Which is to say you can get a HR mpc for a better price than a metal mpc of equal quality. There is nothing inherently better about metal (or HR); what matters is the design. Every conceivable design is available now in HR.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #5