Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone -- I'm new to the forum and have been reading through the archives -- a bit overwhelmed by all the options.

I have a 1932 Selmer Super Sax (Tenor) which I've been playing off-and-on since the 1990s. I love the warm, dark tone and tend to play with a mellow Al Cohn / Zoot Sims sort of sound.

The horn's finish looks like death and I'm wondering what my best options are for making it look nicer without messing too much with the a.) tone, b.) "vintage" appearance," and c.) value (not that I'd ever sell it). Yes, I've read the controversial re-lacquer threads.

Frankly I've always been proud of its junky appearance but I'm afraid that the sound seems to be losing warmth over time and growing more dull and tinny (this could be my imagination/paranoia) -- could this be a result of metal corrosion and/or lacquer wear?

If there are good options for beautifying it (somewhat) and saving the tone before it gets worse, I'd consider them. What would you do? Lacquer, plating, a simple polish, other?

Thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,359 Posts
Take it to the shop for a tune up.
More than likely the loss of tone quality is due to it needing a few adjustments/felt compression/few bad pads.....

I've got a couple of vintage saxes that look like death warmed over that haven't lost anything in the sound quality department.
Making it look pretty ain't gonna help it sound pretty unless you have someone do a complete overhaul which would include all new pads, corks, felts, and an adjustment, along with making it all shiny.

·
Banned
864 Posts
Hi everyone -- I'm new to the forum and have been reading through the archives -- a bit overwhelmed by all the options.

I have a 1932 Selmer Super Sax (Tenor) which I've been playing off-and-on since the 1990s. I love the warm, dark tone and tend to play with a mellow Al Cohn / Zoot Sims sort of sound.