Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi SOTW

i've been really controlling my spending and turning into investments,

i bought the mega vault from florian rooz (hellosaxophone)
am on track to have weekly/biweekly lessons from an instructor who recently graduated.
am on track to book an instructor whom has great pricing, and over 20 years experience
paul deville method

grind is all that matters, but what tools helped you the most in your saxophone playing ?
i'm trying to build up resources, and tools to steamroll through and maximize my time until auditions, i started not too long ago

thanks
happy holidays

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
40,046 Posts
Warp X is certainly right. You said it too.

Grind is the word.

There are many activities in life that are like that. They all look like a piggy bank, the more you put in it the more you find when you need it.

I am not a pro or not even an advanced player but I can hold my own among amateurs which is the circles where I musically move. I have a band, a quartet, and we played last Wednesday.

We were playing and I was complaining that I haven’t played much lately because I have been much distracted by moving from one house to another. They asked me how long I do play practice a day and I said about 3/4 of an hour, they all seemed to think it was a lot.

I told them that at the time I had my first band about 5 years ago I decided to take this seriously and put at least two hours of playing a day.

That made me jump from where I was much, much, further.

The fact is that I began with the exact same bass player and he is still where he was 5 years ago but I have have progressed quite a bit.

Of course, in my case, a lot of time is invested in learning the tunes. I don’t read so I have to memorize it all.

We have a repertoire of about 40 pieces and I am playing some other ones too but I need to stay familiar with the pieces that I play.