Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I have an old YAS 61 Yamaha alto saxophone. I desire to generate a dark classical tone, but I certainly do sound too bright. Can anyone recommend a specific mouthpiece that works well for this instrument for a dark sound, and speaking of this, in addition what would you recommend as the best reed for this instrument, for a dark classical sound?

·
Registered
1,435 Posts
Welcome to the forum! I can't speak for the 61 specifically, but on my 62 tenor and EX alto I really like Rascher and Caravan pieces for a DARK sound. My current preferred tenor piece is a Caravan I had "rebalanced" by Joe Giardullo (Soprano Planet). I got my degree playing Raschers on all horns, briefly switched my alto to the medium chamber Caravan, but have switched back to the Rascher since getting a new V1 neck.

I believe Caravan has a trial policy, and you can get both Caravan and Rascher from Weiner Music, also with trial.

·
Registered
41 Posts
+1 for Caravan, I play one on Baritone sax, it doesn't get any darker than that.

A more mainstream option would be a Vandoren or Selmer. I prefer a round chamber, (Vandoren, Selmer Concept), which I find gives a more focussed sound, but plently of people still like the old square-chamber Selmers. There is a D'addario Reserve model out now too, though I haven't tried it.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Eulipion!

In fact underneath another forum on this website that is about generating dark sound, someone else highly recommended the Rascher mouthpiece. When this mouthpiece was designed, this person claims that the inventor developed this mouthpiece on a Yamaha saxophone. I am going to also try a caravan plus I may see what is Selmer concept sounds like on this instrument.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5