Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a firm believer in the player makes the saxophone (see below).

I currently have a fully functional YTS 23 that plays brilliantly. The makeup of the horn is a bit blocky, the action isn't the greatest and the clickiness of the keys are too audible when I am trying to play softly. I've been asked to play with a local big band and want to upgrade; however, I am not looking at spending 10K on a VI. I know a lot of sax players seem almost robotic with their responses. Selmer, Yamaha... I know how great those horns are. What I'm trying to figure out is about newer horns? Newer makes? Anyone try anything new that sounds great? I am not a pro, but I am definitely at an intermediate level (playing altissimo more and more comfortably to give you an idea).

My alto setup is a Selmer Series III with a Dukoff 4. Sounds super poppy (which compliments my style). I got a killer deal on the horn, otherwise I would have bought something different.

As for my current situation with my tenor shopping, I don't care what it looks like. I don't care about brand names. What have you tried and have been impressed with? I need to test out some horns and I would like to have a set list of makes to look for.

ps - I realize he said "YAS" when it should have been "YTS"

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
7,356 Posts
I wholeheartedly recommend checking out the YTS-61. Best bang for your buck IMO considering I've seen a few on the forum sell for around 1500-1600 bucks.

I love mine. They're less buzzy than the newer 82Z's But they're big and bold sounding.

On the other end of the spectrum for Yamaha's you could also check out the 82Z horns. For about 3K+ they are one of the best horns on the market. They have a great sound and amazing ergonomics.