Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been messing around with sax for about 7 years. I'm good enough to play at blues jams, rock etc. Between my tenor, alto and sop, I find the sop to be the most fun. It's a Jean Baptiste curved dude in excellent shape which I bought used 2 1/2 years ago. It came with an unidentifiable, probably original MPC and that Berg Larsen cited above. Of course, the unmarked MPC is easier to play but it sounds way too harsh and piercing. The Larsen sounds much more mellow, perhaps darker in sax talk, but it's much more difficult to play. I've been using a Vandoren 1 1/2 reed on both. So, I'm in a bit of a quandary. I know that I can experiment with different reeds, but that's a hassle and reeds ain't free. So, to get a darker mellow sound out of the original MPC do I go up or down in reed stiffness or to make the Larsen easier to play do I drop to an even lower reed? Is it the case where stiffer reeds are more difficult? I know one suggestion would be to just practice more with the Larsen ( I see what they cost new and only now realized that I got an amazing bargain when I bought the horn because a new Larsen costs just a little less than what I paid for the horn). BTW I'd been enjoying playing my Martin Indiana tenor with a Meyer 6M but it was too dark, so I recently read a post here about Metalites, so I bought one and now my wife thinks I'm a pro....What a difference in tone and playability. I'll deal with my alto issues some other time. Last BTW essentially all of my performing and recording on 14 positively reviewed rockabilly, blues, rock genre CD's are on the oft poo pooed and highly disrespected harmonica. Just saying so as to not be assumed as one wandering aimlessly through music. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,406 Posts