Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although not new to playing, I'm new to soprano, and the mouthpiece I got with my used Kessler isn't working too well for me. I'm still just starting, and don't have the budget to go nuts here, but looking for suggestions.

I can land an new Yamaha 4C for around $35 shipped. Also have a line on a used Bari 62 for similar money. My tech suggests a Selmer D* Any preferences? Most of my playing will be to double, mostly for theater pit and occasional Big Band.

Thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
6,831 Posts
Runyon (any model/material) #6 or #7. Low price, versatile, and fairly easy to control. If you want more color palette, and have considerably more money to spend, Rovner Deep V (mines a #6). For the beginner it'll take more to control, but once there, it's easier to get problem notes to stay in tune (hence the larger color palette). This piece will bend notes very far in both directions!

My recomendation for the Runyon though, is that it'll bend when needed, but much easier to center for the beginner, and, like Th Rovner, works in all elements w/a small price tag. The Bari 62 is also a very good piece. Between the Bari 62, Yamaha 4C, and Selmer D*, I'd pick the Bari. Again, a versatile piece, warm sound, and cost effective.

·
Registered
538 Posts
I've always love the Selmer Soloists. They're, to me, the perfect balance of control and flexibility. I'd say the D* is about the right size. I'd personally go with an E or F, but I like a more open mouthpiece.

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Thanks for all of the recommendations.

I think I'm going to try the Runyon due to my perception of flexibility with the spoiler.

Guess we'll see, it's certainly not too expensive (although yes, the Yamaha 4C is definitely even less.) The theater program (and show choir) I play in seems to vary alot in what is needed, so flexibility is pretty important.

TIA,