Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am a beginner with only a couple of months experience on tenor sax. I recently bought a 1927 Martin Handcraft that came with a mouthpiece. No markings on the MP, but it is very closed and easy to blow to produce a tone. My teacher noted that the tone of the mouthpiece was very thin and tried it himself which proved it was the MP and not me.

So, I went out and bought a Rico Royal M7. I think it was a mistake, way too open for a beginner like me. Any comments about that? I have tried with a #2 and still have to blow my lungs out to get any sound. Difficult to play an exercise all the way through with it.

Also tried my Yamaha 4C which I had bought earlier and it was easier than the Rico Royale but a little more difficult than the 'no name'. I think I can manage the Yamaha, though.

I am thinking, perhaps wrongly, that the old vintage Martin's need a different type of MP than newer saxes. One difference I noticed is that the original MP slides on much farther in order to be in tune than the other two. About .5 inch further, at least.

For any Martin owners, do you have any preferred mouthpieces? Model and size
of MP makes a difference, right. Any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

Please also refer to my other post regarding my recent tooth problem:
http://forum.saxontheweb.net/showthread.php?160888-Face-meet-floor-cracked-tooth-sore-neck-amp-side&p=1673542#post1673542

Cheers,
Larry

·
Forum Contributor 2010-2017
735 Posts
Hi Larry,