Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am completely new to playing tenor saxophone. I am just about to order me a saxophone from Woodwind & Brasswind company, their WWTS black nickel Tenor Saxophone and it does not ship with a mouthpiece. I was looking at the Otto Link HR 5 mouthpiece (accompanied with Rico select jazz unfiled reeds Str.3M) My question is, should I get the 5 opening or a 4, or maybe as high as a 6*? I am looking for a semi dark jazz feel for my tone. I have a history of playing trumpet so airflow though an instrument is not so much a problem for me (I don’t know if that last sentence even applies though because a saxophone is a completely different instrument) Thank you for your time.

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,830 Posts
Hi Prop3r, welcome to the forum. I am kind of new here too. Just about any horn, or piece of gear you could want has been reviewed somewhere on here.

I am sure the mouthpiece ( OL HR 4,5, or 6) will be fine, but it would probably better to have a stock mouthpiece to start out with. Then you could go on a hunt for what gets you closer to the sound you want when you get some chops and a better feel for your horn.

I am curious why the WWTS as your first horn? You can look around on here and see that they get fair reviews, but are overpriced new. They do have a used on listed for $539. That would seem fair. For the 1699 they are listed at new (or less), you can get (among many, many others) a fine used Cannonball, a TK Melody (maybe new), Maxtone (also new), Phil Barone...all of these horns get good reviews from great players on here, and all come with a mouthpiece. You can also get any number of quality vintage horns in that price, though they may not be as beginner friendly.