Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Haay :) I've been teaching myself the saxophone for a few months, except gave up because I was making absolutely no progress. Far too frustrating...
I'm going to try again, but I need advise badly.
I'm motivated now and will stay dedicated,, i'm just a bit lost.......

Can anyone tell me any tips on what exactly I should do for practise?
what kind of exercises prepare you the best?

Thankyou V.much!

·
Registered
2,452 Posts
What do you play Alto or Tenor whats your setup ? Let me know your MPC and reed setup and is you sax new or old all these ?? lol

Doug

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh my bad. I play an alto! I'm not sure of the brand...but I don't think it's very good..it was a present from China!:p
Im not even sure of the price, but it's new anyway. The mouth piece is just a regular plastic thing that came with it.
I'd invest in a better one, but I don't know what type.
& I use Vandorens two and a half reeds!

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,452 Posts
I think your problem is the MPC and the sax so you might need to get a better setup or get a good mouthpiece like my OTTO LINK tone edge
I use a 5 but you could go 6 if you like

·
Banned
593 Posts
there is lots of mouthpiece stuff on the thread. look around a little. some of the recommendations are quite inexpensive.

hard to believe someone would tell you your horn is the problem without a brand or seeing it. you might have a local repair place check the horn. i hear they can have leaks even new which can make some notes difficult.

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,584 Posts
Before you go out and spend a crap load of money on a new mouthpiece...
Has your horn been to the tech to make sure IT doesn't have any issues that would hinder your progress?
If it's free of any leaks and it has been properly regulated THEN it would be time to shop for a different mouthpiece.