Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm currently a music university student and I chose saxophone as my minor instrument because I love jazz so much. So now I'll need to buy a saxophone but I'm torn between the alto and tenor saxophone. I actually like the tenor sax's sound more than alto sax but after going to a few music stores around my area, all of them recommended me to learn alto saxophone first and then move on to tenor after learning the alto for some time. So now I'm in a dilemma and have a couple of questions that I hope you guys can give me advice on.

1. Is what the sales mans suggested the right way to go or is it actually possible for a complete beginner(I'm a pianist and have never learned any wind instruments) to learn the tenor saxophone straightaway?

2. I know I like the instrument and I'm serious about eventually learning it up to the level where I can perform in gigs. Should I get a student or intermediate sax? Or do I get student saxophone first and then upgrade in the future(salesman suggestion)? I know that what truly matters is the player but now that I'm about to spend money on this I want to make the wiser decision. Professional sax is way over my budget.

3. In relation to question 2, is it possible to perform in gigs with student/intermediate sax? Do professional saxophonists perform with these sax too?

4. Are Chinese and Taiwanese brands trustable? I'm from Malaysia and saxophone is not as popular in this country so there are much lesser saxophones around. I have yet to check out Yamaha music store but so far it's mostly Chinese and Taiwanese brands. Other than Jupiter and LC I can only find very little information about the other brands.

·
Registered
2,795 Posts