Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there. Haven't been active here lately, I'm back now...

So basically I've been playing alto for about 7 years now, and I have developed perfect pitch... in E flat. Which is the same as having normal perfect pitch in concert C, except that because of playing alto since I've ever studied any music, I have it in Eb. So I can play anything I hear or think immediately on my alto. And to get it to the note in concert C tuning I have to think a minor 3rd up from the note in the alto, which isn't much of a deal, since I've grown to know the relative 3rds of basically every note I hear from the alto tuning, from so much training...

Anyways, these days, for a school project, I've had to play soprano sax. Playing the notes that are written isn't much of a problem.

It's when I want to have fun with the bass player or with someone on the piano, and want to play a tune by ear, or want to impro a bit. Because I don't know what note exactly is coming, I get so damn confused. I pretty much have to transpose a 5th down from my alto to get anything good off the soprano.

Any ideas? Anything I want to play in the alto and know how it sounds, I can play it immediately... Soprano... no way.

Is it possible to have perfect pitch in two different tunings, and switch between them whenever I want to?

I'm playing tenor in a few months probably, that'll be a problem...

Thanks

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,903 Posts
My advice is to adapt your perfect pitch to concert pitch, ie relearn the notes as concert. It will be much more useful to you in the future if doubling different saxes and woodwind.

Then you need to learn to transpose to Bb and Eb.

Do this as soon as possible before Eb perfect pitch becomes too ingrained. Trust me, you won't want to go through life only with "pre transposed to Eb" perfect pitch, it will screw you up on many levels and in many situations.