Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I'm a High School student with a fascination for woodwind instrument repair. I have a few questions:
- Would RooPads be good for a marching horn? I know they are naturally waterproof, but not sure how well they would hold up
- Are MusicMedic's RooPads better or are Instrument Clinic's Kangaroo Pads better?
- How do Kangaroo Pads compare to wooven, pressed, etc.?
- I have two horns (technically three, but the D. Noblet Diamond needs some body work by a professional), a Buffet B12 and a Normandy 8. Does someone know the sizes for the pads on a Normandy 8? It's my baby, nad I want to give it the best care and pads I can.

Thanks guys!

Caden Potter - AMB&G

·
Registered
478 Posts
I put Black Roo pads from Music Medic in my R13 and I've been very happy with them. I had Jessica Phillips try out my clarinet as well (she is the principal clarinet plauyer of the Met) and she really liked them as well. I would wager that they would hold up longer and last longer than the traditional pads, but I haven't had mine in for a year yet so I can't say for sure. They do feel great and are a bit quieter as far as pad closing noise goes. Hope this helps.

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,418 Posts
Roo pads on a marching clarinet?
First off I would NOT use the Noblet on the marching field. Use the plastic horn with standard double skin bladder pads.
They may not be 'naturally waterproof' but if your director is smart they won't have you marching in a downpour and what ever moisture they encounter will dry quickly if the case is left open for a little while.
If you want Roo's for your 'concert' horn they should be OK as long as you can get them in the proper thickness for your particular instrument, and seat them properly in the key cups.
I have played clarinets with double bladder pads throughout, cork on top/bladder on the bottom, and 'leather' pads.