Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a high school alto saxophone player. I play in our schools symphonic band, jazz ensemble, and marching group. Now as you can see I get plenty of sax every day. My school music teacher asked me and another good sax player if we wished to play bassoon ONLY for symphonic band. This way I have 2 sax music classes and a bassoon class. First I laughed. Me bassoon? That goofy thing?
Then he started talking about how in larger gigs like large symphonic and orchestral groups, saxophones are either not permitted or they must be able to play another instrument (oboe, clarinet, flute, bassoon, etc.). I am only a high school student. I have a few questions I hope you can answer fully and with great thought.

1. Is the idea that bassoon will give me SAXOPHONE gig opportunities? Remember I want to play sax at one of these gigs. I'll play bassoon if it gives me a huge opportunity to play sax that I wouldn't normally get.

2. Let's suppose the previous question gets answered 'yes'. Does this apply for groups like high school state groups? I don't want to find out 3 years into bassoon playing that the only way the opportunities will kick in is if I am the national champ.

3. Please supply a source if you can that shows a specific group that requires an instrument 'backup'.

4. Should I get a cane or synthetic bassoon reed? How long does cane last?

Thank you,

Michael

·
SOTW Administrator
26,232 Posts
Bassoon is a GREAT double.

There are very, very few saxophone positions in a symphony orchestra, but there are usually three bassoon positions.

There are many Broadway musicals that the reed five book will have some baritone sax and bassoon (and possibly bass clarinet and other instruments, as well).

I doubled on oboe in high school, and played sax in the jazz ensemble.

·
Registered
1,041 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
6,831 Posts