Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to all this
I have a gig a week away - last night the bass messages me, tells me he cant do the gig because he has just got a higher paid gig somewhere else. I'm gutted, and in a jam
If I was offered a gig and accepted that would be it I would have to turn up. Is this unusual - are many musicians that unprofessional?

Follow on
So I have 1 week to get a bass, and there aren't any around at short notice
Playing jazz stuff - me, keys and bass - do I
1. Carry on as a duo
2. I can get drums in - play with that lineup

·
Registered
235 Posts
Welcome to the real world, sorry to hear of your plight. If you let folk on here know where your gig is and the date, maybe someone can put you in touch with a bass player. Heck, I’d do it for you but you could be in Alaska so my travel expenses might just wipe out your gig fee.

Anyway, sax, keys and drums should be a good fallback.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
7,134 Posts
Perhaps find a keyboard player who plays left hand bass?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013-
5,431 Posts
Perhaps find a keyboard player who plays left hand bass?

Your current keyboard player might be able to work up bass lines in a week.

Big drag tho, to have someone you rely upon let you down that way.

Does the pay specify a trio?

·
Registered
Alto sax, Tenor sax, Clarinet
1,309 Posts
For certain, I would make sure never to offer that bass player any more gigs!

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
Usually it’s the same day!

·
Forum Contributor 2016, Distinguished SOTW Member
12,799 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
7,645 Posts
I'm new to all this
I have a gig a week away - last night the bass messages me, tells me he cant do the gig because he has just got a higher paid gig somewhere else. I'm gutted, and in a jam