Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I'm having a problem with play bari sax.

I'm in Middle School, and I've been playing tenor sax for about 6 years.

I've been interested in playing bari sax, but when I tried to play my friend's bari, I couldn't reach the low C without twisting the bari sideways and bending down.

This akward position drastically affects my playing.

I've always had very small hands, so...that's always been a drawback...

Any suggestions?

·
Registered
304 Posts
You might need to adjust the angle of the neck to the left or right so that your hands assume a more natural position on the keys. Some baritones also have difficult keywork to handle even for adult players. It's also possible that you just need to do some more growing!

What make/model of baritone are you trying to play?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,310 Posts
Yes, what make/model are you playing?

Does the school have any other baris you can try?

I've found the more modern horns are better suited to smaller hands than some of the vintage horns. I'm not sure what your options are though..

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
MPL said:
You might need to adjust the angle of the neck to the left or right so that your hands assume a more natural position on the keys. Some baritones also have difficult keywork to handle even for adult players. It's also possible that you just need to do some more growing!

What make/model of baritone are you trying to play?
That might be it, I'll try that.

But I believe it's just an old Selmer USA Bari.

It does seem pretty difficult to play due to its size. My friend who plays it in the band is almost 6 foot so maybe that's why my band director chose him.

And to hgrail, I don't believe my school has any more baris. Many of the band's instruments need replacing, although many of them are still playable, just in fair condition.

The bari does look a bit old, but not vintage.

·