Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently left for college and am at heart a bari sax player, which sucks cause they're expensive. I have my alto and i love playing it but it's not the same as a bari. Because of this i've very recently been looking online and around for a bari sax, being a college student i'm broke so i obviously can't get a new one but i have found some nice ones on ebay that are not too expensive the problem is that NONE of them have necks. I'm not sure who is going around stealing all these bari necks but it's not cool. Today i found a jean barre artiste 1960's bari sax for a pretty good price, the problem is it has no neck. I would really like to get this sax but i don't know where i could find a neck for it or what modern necks would even go well with it. Please help!

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts
A replacement neck is about $300 -- assuming you either get one from Gloger (http://www.gloger-handkraft.com/) or can find a suitable neck without a horn.

One of the reasons that the horn is cheap is that the neck is missing, rendering it useless as anything other than a floor lamp. The Jean Barre Artiste isn't one of the more common horns, so unless you just get extremely lucky, you're unlikely to find a fit. If you're going to opt for a horn without a neck, try for a Bundy, Buescher 400, or Selmer USA Signet (same horn). Seem to plenty of those necks floating around on eBay -- for $300.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you. I know it would be a lot but the jean barre is under 300 right now im also looking at a buescher 400 bari with a neck i have never personally played a buescher so i'm not sure how they play.

·
8,588 Posts
Thank you. I know it would be a lot but the jean barre is under 300 right now im also looking at a buescher 400 bari with a neck i have never personally played a buescher so i'm not sure how they play.