Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, everyone
I've been playing jazz bari sax quite seriously now for about 4-5 years. I'm 15, and my back and neck have recently started to become a problem. I'm pretty small, about 5'1-5'2 and around 93 lbs. I had to bail on a gig at the last minute a few days ago because of my neck and back pain. My mom has decided that I am not allowed to play bari anymore until i go to the doctor, and I need some help finding a harness! I've been playing with a yolk neckstrap, and have tried a few harnesses, but since I'm small and a girl ,none of them work. I really need some advice on finding some cheap, but effective harnesses for someone my size. HELP!

·
Registered
1,166 Posts
I met someone that used one of those, a shorter man. I didn't try it, but the guy raved about it.
I've always used the same strap for all four horns, but I'm usually switching saxes pretty much every song. I know that playing bari for a long time with a normal strap will hurt.

If you don't like the Saxholder, there are other straps that might help:
http://www.musicmedic.com/catalog/products/strp-100.html
http://www.protecmusic.com/items.as...rumentGroupID=1&CategoryID=1&subCategoryID=76

Also, make sure that when you play, the strap is tightened enough. I've seen a LOT of players that put it a bit too low, and then they have to reach their necks down to get to the mouthpiece. I used to do it myself. Not only will it mess with your neck, but the angle it creates between the mouthpiece and your mouth can mess with the horn's outer ranges.

·
Forum Contributor 2015-17
1,910 Posts
I use one of these, and if it were lost would get another: http://www.saxharness.com

I am not a fifteen year old girl though. Maybe a stand would be best for you.