Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been playing a Rico Metalite M7 with Rico Royal 2 reeds for a while now and from the get-go I have been quite unhappy with the tone of my playing, I've saved up about £180 ($230) for a new mpc and I'm going to look into a new reed choice as well (I have more money available if needed). I'm studying jazz at music college so I'd like something with a darker sound and that would blend well with the other saxes in my big band (old-timey swing style music) and would love some advice for a nice new upgrade! I have already spoken to some people and they suggested something along the lines of a Jody Jazz HR* 7 but I am unsure and would just like some pointers if possible!

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
3,022 Posts
I have been very happy with my Jody Jazz Jet 7 for "big band" work. I use a Legere Signature #2 1/2 which gives the resistance I like. It is versatile enough to give a big sound with an edge when pushed, but a sound that blends with a section when required. My second mouthpiece choice when less edge is wanted is a Rousseau Jazz JDX 6. It is also a very versatile piece having a range of colors for playing different styles. Both of these mouthpieces are a good value for the money and don't cost "an arm and a leg" like some bari pieces do.

·
SOTW Administrator
26,208 Posts

·
Registered
1,087 Posts
+1 on the RPC

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
7,134 Posts
Didn't love my RPC but it sure was loud. You might try a Drake.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
7,906 Posts
I like a simple old Otto Link STM on Baritone.
You could try a 7-7* with a Fibracell 3.
Regardless of what people say, you can get sufficient edge on these if you put the air through them.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Berg Larsen rubber round darker sound. Woodwind and Brass offers trial of 5 at a time for a small fee. Def worth it. I don’t care for metal too bright.

·
Registered
312 Posts