Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need some advice. I’m new to Bari Sax. I’m actually a trombone player. Bought a bari to play bass lines in Street bands. My horn came with a metal Otto Link 6* size, which I’m told is a very nice piece. Was struggling with the amount of air I have to get into the horn so I picked up a Rico Metalite 5, thinking the smaller tip opening would help. I’m not sure if it helped or not but it’s loud as hell. Perfect for play with a loud band. I am still struggling with air, however. Would an even smaller tip opening actually help with air or is it just a matter of practice? I do see that some of the mouthpieces that are recommended for beginners (Yamaha 5c) are smaller. Any thoughts? Thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,160 Posts
Link 6*-105
Rico Metalite 5-100
Yamaha 5c-80

Good resource for you here
https://jodyjazz.com/facing-page/baritone-saxophone-mouthpiece-facing-chart/

The Yamaha 5c is one of the best mouthpieces for new bari players out there. It's easy to play, sounds good, consistent, and cheap. If you're struggling with air on a 6* though, it is likely too hard of a reed, or the horn is leaking. I play 105-110 tip openings and use a Legere Signature 2.0, 2.25, or 2.5 depending on my mood and the music I'm playing. Usually a 2.25 on the bigger ones, 2.5 on the smaller ones, and 2.0 if I'm tired. The air requirements on smaller tip openings are smaller, but you sacrifice volume and some flexibility. It is far more likely that your horn is leaking, especially if it is new and/or hasn't seen a tech in a while. It may not be the pads either, I was chasing a leak on my horn for about 2 weeks and found out that one of the joints had broken loose up top where it was glued and just broke loose. It won't show on a leak light, but it was a nightmare to try to play through that and required a considerably larger amount of air

·
Registered
129 Posts