Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!
Good news, I'm going to buy a baritone.
At the moment, the only ones available into my budget are a late King Voll True and an old Grassi.
I have no experience with these instrument makers and with baritones.
Sellers live far from me so I'd like to know which is the saxophone to try first and, hopefully,to buy.
I'd like to avoid to make more than one journey 'cause unfortunately for working reasons I don't have too much free time .
Thank you!

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
I don't know anything about old Grassi baritones, but I would steer clear of an old King Voll True unless you are an experienced bari player and know exactly what you're getting into. These may not even be keyed to high F. I know the tuning of Voll True tenors can be "interesting".

I think that at least in the USA the best bet for an inexpensive playable baritone is an old Buescher 400/Bundy/Selmer USA (the ones with the bell keys on the right side but in between the bell and the body). I regularly see these in "look more or less playable, after you put some pads in" condition for less than $1000. There are a lot of them around.

As far as I can tell there aren't really any low A baritones in that price range. The low A vs. no low A issue has been hashed out here ad infinitum.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,979 Posts
Hi all!
Good news, I'm going to buy a baritone.
At the moment, the only ones available into my budget are a late King Voll True and an old Grassi.
I have no experience with these instrument makers and with baritones.
Sellers live far from me so I'd like to know which is the saxophone to try first and, hopefully,to buy.
I'd like to avoid to make more than one journey 'cause unfortunately for working reasons I don't have too much free time .
Thank you!