Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm new to the forum and I'm looking for a new bari sax. I've been playing on the schools jupiter jbs593 for almost 2 years now. (they gave it to me new as an upgrade from the older jupiter horn I played on, which was an upgrade from the bundy ii that I played throughout middle school.) But it's only been 2 years and the horn is breaking everywhere and the lacquer is tarnishing all over the place. I'm looking for something with a warm and fat/heavy sound. I was thinking about the cannonball big bell stone series brute. Also, do any go you guys know if the brute finish would last longer than others?

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
40,434 Posts
Welcome to SOTW.

Jupiter saxophones of production between the ’80 of last century and the turn of the century, were known for having bad lacquer and their basic models were also not particularly well made.

However , after that even the most basic of their baritones has become a much better horn that it was before.

If you like the Cannonball brute bariton , you will spend a huge amount of money to buy one new. The finish, won’t hold as well as a lacquered saxophone but that is the price you pay for the looks.

Personally I wouldn’t buy a new Cannonball saxophone but a secondhand one since they tend to be hit ( as all new saxophones are by gigantic depreciation), but you might not be able to find the exact model that you want when you want it.

Frankly speaking, whatever you buy you will be better off buying a secondhand one.

Do consider a used Yanagisawa or Yamaha baritone. They are modernly keyed and very robustly made, will hold their value much better than a new Cannonball and probably work better.

Good luck!

http://forum.saxontheweb.net/search.php?searchid=20585832

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Welcome to SOTW.