Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone tried either/both of these clarinets and can evaluate them as to playability, tone, playing in tune in the different registers, etc. both instruments are within the same price range. I have seen YouTube vids on each instrument, but curious if they are as good as the websites say they are. Also is the sound very bright or a darker tone.

·
Registered
602 Posts
I have a Ridenour clarinet. Tone and intonation more than meet my expectations. There's no guarantee you will have the same impression, as intonation can vary according to the player, and tone quality is subjective and depends on your physical attributes and reed/mouthpiece setup. You need to try them out. The drawback is the quality of the keywork; otherwise, they're great instruments for the money. I would consider the tone to be a bit on what I consider the dark side, but I've been playing for 50 years, and the tonal concept I was taught to aspire to would probably be judged "bright" nowadays. I haven't played the Alpha, but I've tried other Backuns. The others tend to have a quite dark tone, and I found the feel of the keyword odd and uncomfortable, coming from 50 years of playng mostly on R13's. You may not agree. Try them. I'm sure you can find a dealer that will allow a trial.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for your reply. I used to play clarinet, but music change and all I played was tenor sax in a small group. Trying to get back into playing clarinet. I did start on an ebonite clarinet back in the 50's. But being a not so smart musician, sold it, which I regret. It would be used as a doubler instrument. That is the reason why I am looking at these two clarinets.

·
Registered
23 Posts
I own both a Backun Alpha and a Ridenour RCP-576BC.

Ridenour RCP-576BC virtues:
  • Easiest clarinet to play in tune that I've ever encountered