Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Administrator Emeritus
18,485 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Our SOTW Beginners/Intermediates thread has 'You've Changed' as current Tune Of The Month (TOTM). After recording a sax only version with backing track I thought it would be fun and a good exercise for me to try to back singer Eva Cassidy's version (one of my favourites) with my sax playing. The (IMO slightly boring!) piano solo in her clip offered some space for a short sax solo too :).

Backing a singer is not easy and I'm not very experienced in doing that. Didn't have much time to prepare (actually zero time) and also found that Eva's version was in another key then the dots I used for the sax only take. So after finding out (hopefully!) the correct key I played it all by ear, just a one take hit and record approach. I used an old (very) high baffle Ponzol 120 mouthpiece (have it since a few months), a La Voz medium reed and a Selmer SBA. Recorded with a Samson C03 USB mic linked to Audacity, slight amount of reverb added to get a better mix with the backing (still unsure if I'm too loud in the mix).

Here is my version (how PeeBee destroys one of Eva Cassidy's master works :mrgreen:):

- 'You've Changed' (Eva Cassidy meets PeeBee): http://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=12636271

And here is the original Eva Cassidy clip that I used as backing:
or
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pWmlmED6SQ

Would be nice to hear your opinion and possible recommendations related to my playing, sound and the mixing quality of the take (I of course already know most of my weak and less weak points as experienced amateur player with very limited time to practise).

So please feel free to give your comments, good or bad :).

·
Registered
406 Posts