Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I play a Mar VI 193*** with a Babit Meyer 5 small chamber. I have been using plasticovers for the last 2 years and they where just starting to be a little to inconsistant and bright for me. I have tried RJS, rigotti gold, alaxander and I am getting so muck back pressure form all these reeds I cant produce the full sound needed to play lead alto. Is this a result of the small chamber small tip opening?

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2012-2015
5,903 Posts
You probably need to go down in reed strength. What strength are you using?

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
What strength reed do you use? If by back pressure you mean resistance than your reeds are too hard. If you are using 3-12
try 3 If you are using 3 try 2-12. For lead alto too much resistance and you run out of air. The small chamber is not causing the resistance unless your mouthpiece has a crooked facing which happens frequently on Babbitt pieces. You can tell if your facing is even by putting a credit card between the reed and the mouthpiece tip to check if the facing is longer on one side.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I was using plasticover 3 then went to 2 1/2m rigotti golds then rjs 3s now rigotti gold 2 1/2 hard

·
5,903 Posts
Rigotti Gold 2.5 M should solve your problem. Similar to RJS 2H, just slightly harder.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Rigotti Gold 2.5 M should solve your problem. Similar to RJS 2H, just slightly harder.
worked grate for the first 20 min then would start to die

·
5,903 Posts
So you need to use 2.5 Strong. Play each for 5 minutes on the first day, 10 minutes the second day, 15 minutes on the third day and 30 minutes on the 4th day. After 2-3 days of break-in, they come alive.

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
I was using plasticover 3 then went to 2 1/2m rigotti golds then rjs 3s now rigotti gold 2 1/2 hard