Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a freshman in college now at a state school with a relatively small jazz program. The program isn't bad, just smaller than many and doesn't have quite as many options as many. I'm considering what I should do in the future. I am considering transferring to the conservatory at SUNY Purchase, or finishing my degree here and getting a masters at Purchase or another jazz school.

Sooooo, my question to you all is what do you think is more important: A really solid undergraduate program or a really good masters program?

And just for the heck of it, where did you go to school? Do you think it had a big influence on where you are now?

-Josh Kinney

·
Registered
3,775 Posts
I didn't go to school for music but I play with and know many folks who have. My first inclination is to say it depends upon what you want to do. If you want to perform/ play for a living it's going to come down to how good a player you are and experience is likely to mean as much or more as education. The Masters will come in handy if you want to teach especially at the college level.

Judging from what I've seen and read where you go can be very important mostly because of the connections you make at college and the opportunities those connections may provide for you in the future.

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,285 Posts
Get your undergrad at your current college/university. Get your Masters at a bigger name school.
A BA will get you a decent job, IF you can find a job, and the Masters will get you a bigger paycheck.

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
It's kinda funny to me how you worded your question. IMO, both the undergrad and the grad are very important. You go to the very best programs (for you) that you can.

Your other question: BM, MM University of North Texas (Univ. of Hawaii transferee).

·
Registered
1,783 Posts