Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
814 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been working on altissimo lately on my tenor, I am fairly new to it.

So far I am practicing E/F/F#/G, all of which come out and sound very full except E.
E is very very very airy, breathy.

Is this an indication of something directly or can it be many things?

·
Registered
84 Posts
did you mean fork/front E ? in this case, it's probably because of the front f key opening too much or too little, on some saxophones it can be adjusted.

·
Registered
2,806 Posts
E3 with the altissimo fingering (not using the palm keys), is similar to the G2-A2 area of the saxophone. That note is somewhat weaker than other altissimo notes, in particular F and F#, and for similar reasons that G2 is sometimes weak or stuffy. It has to do with the register key switch - E3 altissimo uses the body octave pip, F3 altissimo uses the neck octave pip.

The front F lift key should have a little play in it, and it should not open the F palm key all the way. How much it should open is a matter for testing :) If you have the front F lift key adjusted properly, you might inspect the octave pips and clean them with a pipe cleaner or some such. But E3 altissimo is a weaker note than F3 altissimo even when everything is right.

·
SOTW Administrator
26,204 Posts
Altissimo fingering of left hand only
If I'm clear here, you are meaning the fork E, rather than the octave higher.

In that case, Geolm is correct. The key on left hand pointer finger above the normal b key opens the palm F key. The key may need adjusting, as they often open too much (or rarely, too little).

·
Registered
5,454 Posts