Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

So I've been playing tenor for about 5 years now and it's awesome! Recently I've began playing more often and in a range of new bands and I've suddenly begun craving thicker reeds and a louder, beefier sound. I've had three different music teachers since I started, but none of them have actually been saxophone players so it was a shock when I recently discovered that mouthpieces are somewhat important!

I currently have the Yamaha 4C mouthpiece, and am playing an intermediate range Jupiter. I've done my Grade 5 AMEB equivalent (ANZCA) and am currently working on my 6.

Mouthpiece inquires aren't exactly uncommon on this forum and I've read through a few, so I guess I'm really after some clarification more than suggestions. From what I've read, a Morgan mouthpiece seems to be a reliable choice, with something along the line of a 5M or 6M for jazz, and a 3C for classical. That and the much repeated cry of play everything in the shop, but with the city a couple of hours away, a good heads up would be nice.

So I guess I'm asking if the Morgan 5M or 6M is the way to go, or if I even need to upgrade the Yamaha 4C? Plus, the amount of classical I'm playing is bare minimum, so could the Morgan or the 4C cover this?

I don't know if this matters, but a mouthpiece with volume would be nice, although I can almost hit the volume I want on the 4C so don't pump it up too much. (I play in the local community swing band with an average volume of FORTISSIMO!)

Erm and influences/aspirations. I'm afraid I really don't listen to enough sax, as my hunt for trombone solos is almost second nature, but recently I've been enjoying the sax player from The JB's, and Dana Colley (Morphine) is an inspiration! Add in the sax from Fat Freddie's Drop as well.

Thanks in advance, and sorry for covering ground that has been explored to the point of lunacy.

·
Forum Contributor 2010-2016