Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone-any assistance would be greatly appreciated. For many years I thought I had a "stenciled" Beuscher straight soprano with the Selmer American New York logo. However, after looking at the description at DrRick, it appears I have a "stenciled" Conn. The designation is as follows;
S
P23768
L

that is under the Pat. Dec. 8, 1914

I am thinking that using the Conn Serial number listing this horn should be in the 1912-1913 range. Any thoughts or comments would be most appreciated at your convenience. Sincerely, J.C. Feil

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,301 Posts
J.C.: Welcome to SOTW. I am no expert on vintage Conns even though I've owned them in the past. Those numbers certainly appear to be done in the Conn-style of that era.

The L, by the way, means Low Pitch (a good thing).

The patent date and number are consistent with Conn's markings.

The low serial number seems consistent with the dates you listed, but I'd want to check other lists to corroborate that estimate.

The bigger question . . . how does it play? DAVE

·
Registered
790 Posts
Welcome jcfeil, it should be Conn stencil, I thought the P in the serialnumber is telling you it's a stencil. As for the date, stencil serials don't follow the charts so it's not the way to determine it's day of birth. Some pics might help for the 'connesseurs' to give some extra info.

And ofcourse Dave is right about the bigger question.:D

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,116 Posts
Conn for sure based on the P in the serial number. The Conn numbers don't match for stencils. If it has the thumb ring, it is probably from 1925-30 and the standard thumb rest, before that. I am not positive on the thumb ring but that holds true for the Pan-Americans, also a P serial number horn. It is also possible that there are rolled tone holes on the upper keys but not on the lower ones.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6