Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All;

I am a newbie here with some questions on assembling the mouthpiece, reed and ligature.

I will be getting a new Yamaha 5C mouthpeice and Rovner Dark ligature for a tenor sax. They have not arrived yet and I don't know if either will have any instructions.

When you asseble the mouthpiece, reed and ligature, do you align the ligature so that the two bars are on the bottom of the mouthpiece (over the reed) or on the top of the mouthpiece, leaving the webbing to secure the reed? Or does it matter?

Second question, how do you know just how much tension to apply with the ligature?

Any advise you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,304 Posts
I don't think it matters! You will find some users of Rovners put the bars on the reed, others place the bars at the top of the piece (securing the reed with the strap), and others may even place the bars to the side of the piece.

I've done it every way and when I use a Rovner, I put the bars on top of the piece with the strap over the reed. I recall that most Rovners (except the EDII and the EVO) have an area of relief inside the strap, supposedly where the reed goes, so I assume Rovner intended their ligs to be used with the bars on top.

Feel free to experiment and report back to us what results you achieved. DAVE

·
SOTW Administrator
26,216 Posts
Bluesblaster said:
Hi All;

Second question, how do you know just how much tension to apply with the ligature?

Any advise you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
The answer to the second question is: 'enough tension so that the reed is held securely.'

Incidentally, the lig should be put on the mouthpiece, then back the reed in between, rather than trying to put the ligature over the reed already in place. My students have messed their reeds up many times when trying to put the lig over the reed.;)

·
Registered
139 Posts