Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just some background to my situation : I have a tech who i like and trust. He has been servicing my horns for about 10 years now. He used to work in the shop of the music store. Now he works from home and the shop shuttles the instruments to him.

Now - just last week I brought a tenor in that I started playing again after having sat for about two years. The main thing that needed attention was a loose neck tenon that needed expanding. So much so that it not only spun when fully tightened but also wobbled a bit. I told the store manager who was assisting me the ticket. He wrote up the work order as a basic checkup -
  • Install new key corks and pads as needed
  • Seat pads and adjust as needed
  • Spot lubricate
  • Regulate spring tension
  • test play
  • final inspection

I asked him to make a note about the loose neck. He didn't and told me that the tech is a "pro sax player" (which I already know) and that he will find that in his work up.

So my question to the techs out there. When a horn comes to you wouldn't you want to know why it came in? Or do you just go through a checklist of things and get back to the owner with recommended repairs/adjustments?

I know a loose neck is an obvious thing issue but - still - wouldn't you want that on the work order?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,933 Posts
R'man, I'm with you. I encountered a similar issue in my previous location. The store got a new manager that forbade the tech to talk with his established customers, and instead had the front desk process all incoming repairs. I stopped going to that store for anything.

absolutely. there are only two guys I trust around here. K
I'd appreciate a PM regarding who they are, if you aren't up to posting their names.

·
Forum Contributor 2012, SOTW Saxophone Whisperer,
3,209 Posts