Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working with play-along CDs and doing improvising, along with working with a lot of the books recommended in this forum, like Levine's Jazz Theory book, Coker's Patterns for Jazz, and a few others. I'm still a bit of a beginner, but I want to start to learn some tunes that I can actually really work on that will challenge me a bit. The tunes in the play-alongs are easy - although the improvising is definitely a challenge. Are the Real Books to advanced for me at this point? I have the Charlie Parker Omnibook, but I'm not ready for that yet.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
4,881 Posts
Real Books are about as simple as can be. They're really just the Cliff's Notes, ya know!?

·
Registered
72 Posts
Real books are great but make sure you have a friend hwo plays piano guitar or bass, because u need the accompinament

·
Forum Contributor 2010, Distinguished SOTW Member
5,076 Posts
JrSax said:
Real books are great but make sure you have a friend hwo plays piano guitar or bass, because u need the accompinament
That's nice, but not necessary, IMHO: you can use the real books to learn/practice standards. There is some material that may challenge you (that's good!) and a lot you can probably play right away. This, of course, assumes that you can read.:D

·
Registered
4,525 Posts
My real books in combination with Band in a Box has given me a ton of material to work with. Sometimes I just flip through until I find a tune that interests me then search for the BIAB file (there are tons available) and voila I have a backing track along with the melody and changes (just make sure to check that BIAB is in the same key).

edit: I am definitely still a card-carrying member of the "beginner" ranks.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,875 Posts