Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got a Hollywood today. This is the second Barone I've played. The other was a NY. In both cases I was playing against more resistance than I'm used to.

For those of you who have tried or own a Barone Hollywood, NY or Jazz, have you noticed more resistance from these than from other mpcs? I'm comparing this to several metal tenor Links, Ponzols and a Berg.

I'm asking because I've read a lot of positive comments from SOTWers and Phil, himself, about Hollywoods and I just want to know how representative this particular one is.

Thanks, gary

·
Registered
387 Posts
I play on a Barone Jazz 9, and when I got it I was coming from a recent Link STM 7*. There was a lot less resistance than I was used to when I got it. Now that I've been playing it for 6-8 months or so (it's my main mouthpiece), I would have to say that it does have some resistance, and it also has some power. I'm pretty happy with it in general. I have also heard that the more recent Jazz models have less resistance still.

·
27,650 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Holy smoke - less resistance?!

The difference between this Hollywood and my other mpcs (which have all had some kind of work done on them, I should add, but nothing radical) would be like playing a trumpet open (the other mpc's) and with a straight mute (the Barone).

Any other similar experiences?

(yes, I am taking in more mpc ;))

·
Registered
387 Posts
Well as I understand it, the Jazz model is going to have the least resistance of the three models you mentioned. But yes, the Jazz 9 I have (made in December 2001) had way less resistance than the Otto Link Super Tone Master 7* that I purchased some time in the early to mid 90's.

·
Forum Contributor 2008/Distinguished SOTW Member
3,295 Posts