Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,580 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m considering a tenor that has a vintage patina applied with engraving through the patina. For those that own or have worked on one with a few years’ mileage is the patina effectively going to function as an antitarnish, or at least slow the tarnish process down?

To keep the contrast between the engraving visually sharp is Renaissance Wax the preferred “preservative”? I use it on my bare brass Zephyr for he bell and neck, but I have no experience with this type of finish. So, ask and learn :)

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,875 Posts
any patination involves only a superficial layer and will wear out in the contact points wax will provide some protection from oxidation but will not prevent abrasion because it will be abraded itself.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,991 Posts
Depends on the patina formula and method applied. Is this a factory patina formula ? or just some hardware-store bought thing ?
Was it just applied cold to bare brass ? Was it applied hot to the brass ? (meaning, in the process is the metal actually heated).

If you have no clue and cannot find out, you can always test an area with the Renaissance and see how that goes.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,875 Posts
the horns that I sold “ made in Taiwan" from a local company had several types of factory applied patina and I used one for while and the patina rubbed off.

·
SOTW Member
3,394 Posts
let's see saving the Faux Vintage appearance from turning into a "real" vintage patina which is indeed basically tarnish ??????????? ***

lord help us

·
SOTW Columnist, Distinguished SOTW Member
23,019 Posts
let's see saving the Faux Vintage appearance from turning into a "real" vintage patina which is indeed basically tarnish ??????????? ***

lord help us
LOL. My thoughts exactly!

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,581 Posts