Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm contemplating buying a new tenor. I play mostly rock and R&B. Although I'm playing in two bands I'm by no means a professional. I gig once a month perhaps, mostly for charity.

I've seen this particular model being blown out for half price. I've heard only good things about the Keilwerth horns but there seems very little info on the web on this model.

Also, does anyone know if it has the alternate f# key?

Any feedback is much appreciated.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
4,881 Posts
If you're buying new, then there aren't any better deals to be had on European horns than this. Even Japanese professional horns are going for more than this. I haven't tried this specific model, but if it's a German-made SX90 then I would be all over it.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
2,090 Posts
One of my band mates has one and I've tried one. Nice horn. The sound reminds me of the older Conns, at least to my ear. I prefer the French more centered sound, but these are nice too. At 1/2 price, how can you go wrong, if it is , in fact, the German made horn.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
7,126 Posts
Just to be clear, we're talking about the new model, not the vintage tone king from years ago. They are basically a SX90 without the rolled tone-holes. The only caveat, since you only play out a few times a month; many players find that the Keilwerth saxes take more air than say, a Yamaha or Selmer tenor. If you find your tenor "backs up" and you can't put enough air into it, this could be a great horn. On the other hand, if you don't have strong lungs or chops, this could just make you tired.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2012
4,370 Posts