Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for a case w/wheels for my Keilworth XT/Jupiter low A baritone. I'm told that the MTS case will fit the horn as this model was built by Jupiter in ROC. The question is that the case appears to carry the horn upside down. i.e. the top of the horn is on the bottom of the case when the case is upright (wheels down). I don't know if this makes sense. When the case is upright on its wheels, the bell bow is on the top. Anyway, I'm wondering if this is bad for the instrument in the long run. Bari cases are hard to find, especially with wheels and a non-selmer horn.

·
Forum Contributor 2008-2017
351 Posts
I like the cases, I've been carrying my Super 20 King in one for at least 3 years now with no issues. I leave it on the end a lot of the time with no issues having the sax upside down.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
2,090 Posts
I've investigated these. They are sturdy and well built, if a little bulky. I went with the SKB and would recommend it, if the horn fits. The "bow" is at the bottom on those. I would be a little concerned with the weight of the horn on the top, but if the horn fits snugly with minimal movement inside the case you should be OK. I don't think these are built to stand upright, as is the case with the SKB or the BAM, so the horn will never be at more than a 45 degree angle and then only when it's being moved. If you have an opportunity to try the SKB fit before deciding, I would do that if I were you. BAMs are great too, but pricey and my SKB has done an excellent job protecting my Bari.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,880 Posts
The case looks really big and at +/- 11Kg adds a Lot of weight to your total burden. True it has wheels. Have you considered a Protec Contour? It weights 6.1 Kg almost HALF of the MTS case and it is an hard shell contoured case. It is also slightly cheaper.

They can also be carried on the shoulders.