1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi there !
i'm a newbie late bloomer !!
been trying to learn alto since feb 2007 and i'm a little confused!! ha ha
i don't see or hear any difference in THE NORMAL 'G' or 'G#', i do not see anything else opening or closing when i play 'G#' HELP thanks john

·
SOTW Administrator
26,208 Posts
I think your G# pad is stuck. Press the G# key and look at the mechanism. There is a pad at the end of the mechanism that should be opening.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/ Forum Contributor 2011
2,574 Posts
Or if that gets too confusing, open and close your G key and observe which pad opens and closes. Press your G# key. The pad right below the one that was opening and closing should open. If not, gently un-stick it. After that, the G# key should work for a while. There are all kinds of ways to get a fairly decent fix for the stickiness. You'd do best to use the search button for "sticky G#" to see what they are. You'll be reading for hours if you go through all of it.

·
Registered
57 Posts
It's a good idea to check that key before you start playing. When he had finished playing, a friend of mine used to put a little block of rubber under the low C# key to keep it, and the G# sharp key open in the case. Good luck with your playing.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2014
26,424 Posts
That's why I don't drink soft drinks, coffee, mixed drinks, etc. when I'm playing. Since going clean the G# hasn't stuck once.

·
Forum Contributor 2016, The official SOTW Little S
5,472 Posts
Try a dollar bill. But don't let it rip. They actually don't take them anymore. How dissapointing.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,875 Posts
jazzbluescat said:
That's why I don't drink soft drinks, coffee, mixed drinks, etc. when I'm playing. Since going clean the G# hasn't stuck once.