Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Forum Contributor 2011-2015
2,023 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just received an email from Jeffrey Powell to stop using the name Guardala since he owns it. Am I in trouble? This legal stuff is where I'm not good at.
Sakshama

·
Registered
240 Posts
You could try to talk it over with him. Another thing to try would be to say "Guardala is a last name. You can't own a last name." I'm sure you can work something out.

·
2,023 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Got the same idea. I hope it will end on not using the name on the mouthpiece which I never did.

·
Registered
70 Posts
It's a last name, don't be intimidated by him, ask him if he does this for all the other people who sell Guardala named products, or he's just trying to find an easy target.

·
Registered
591 Posts
It may be wise to not use the Guardala name as a headline on your website. You could find another name like you use "Sakshama Florida" for the Otto Link STM florida era copies you make. A name like "Sakshama Big Bro G" for example ;). In the description you can still mention that the original Guardala mouthpieces were the inspiration and so forth.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,596 Posts
I suggest renaming them Sakshama G's or something along the line of it and just mention that they are lost waxes of the original.

·
Registered
8,975 Posts
I do not know the legal-ese either. But Brilhart sold his last name as far as for its use in mouthpiece marketing. So it can be done. He continued using his initials "ARB".

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2012-2015
5,878 Posts
I suggest renaming them Sakshama G's or something along the line of it and just mention that they are lost waxes of the original.
Sakshama G is actually a very good sounding name.

·
5,878 Posts
How about "Sakshama G Plus"?

·
SOTW Administrator
26,207 Posts
How about The 'Sakshama Dave'? Jeffrey doesn't own that name:)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,580 Posts