Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I started playing saxophone last year as an adult. The one thing that I find really hard is to get used to my mouthpiece. I have a beautiful Martin Alto which came with a Martin * (one star) mouthpiece. After struggling tremendously with it I got myself a Rico Graftonite B5 mouthpiece. At first it didn't seem to work because the Martin ligature couldn't hold the reed properly. I then got myself a Rovner ligature, which works better. But I'm still finding it hard to hit the high notes in the 3rd register (D#, E, F). I'm not even trying altisimmo.

By pure luck I got myself a tenor, almost by accident. It was so cheap, I couldn't resist. The octave key was not properly hooked in and the guy sold it thinking it was no good. A 3 minute fix got it playing. But this added to my struggles (I think). It came with a brand-less mouthpiece, which I believe is usually crap. But it's so easy to blow. I can hit those same high notes without really trying hard. But I seem to overblow the low notes and have to adjust to blowing softly into it. And after playing tenor I find it hard to go back to Alto.

Could it perhaps be that I got so used to have to blow the hell out of the instrument that I'm overblowing when I get to the tenor? What I really want to know, should the 2 instruments be so different? And is there an easy solution like buying a different mouthpiece for the one which will feel closer to the other?

Thanks for the time to answer.

Amanda

·
Registered
1,246 Posts
Hi Amanda,
Here is my 2 cents and sorry if you all ready know this stuff....

First of all, given your limited experience, expectations of Altissimo are way too early. Unless you are a natural you will not achieve good altissimo for a long time regardless of your mouthpiece. Consider it a study once you have mastered bottom Bb to high F sharp being able to pick any note at ease.