Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

Quick backstory is that I played alto as a kid and from what I remember I was pretty decent. About ten months ago (25 years later) I decided to get the alto out and have it tuned up. I had been playing for nine months. Not awesomely, but well enough to have fun and I felt like I was playing the range of the horn ok and didn't notice anything weird.

I bought a Chicago Style Jazz Tenor about a month ago and I have been trying to play it daily.
I'm noticing some things that I think are weird, but I also suspect the consensus on here might be to practice it more.

I have a brilhart 4 and am trying vandoren 2 and 2.5

I can remedy a lot of these issues if I really think about them and try to change my embouchure some. But I keep reading that embouchure should remain fairly consistent. I am trying to take in a bit more mouthpiece than the alto.

So I've heard this is a normal issue on many tenors, but it's on my list so I'm putting it here.
High g# and g wanna flutter octaves. And high A.

G and middle D almost pop an octave higher really quick and then correct themselves. This is when I'm just playing the note. Not slurring to it or anything

Today I was playing a song and the notes went as follows
Middle Eb, middle E, high A, middle Eb.
Playing this fast, when I get to that last middle Eb, it will either squeak loud or just sound awful.

I also get an slight octave problem when I'm playing fast and come across a middle D

The seller was adamant about the horn sealing up nicely. He played it for me and it sounded great. He even had it serviced before I picked it up. In light of some of these weird issues, I did take it to one local shop and the guy played it and said it was fine. He didn't seem to want to put his light in it.