Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been playing the alto saxophone for nearly 7 years my setup was a yas-23, meyer 6m, and vandoren java green 3 1/2. I found this setup to be kind of stuffy so after doing some research I switched to a vandoren jumbo java a55 and java green 2 1/2 reeds. Then I was able to upgrade to a yas-62 purple logo. I like the sound of the 62 much better, however around this time I started to have serious intonation issues. I would tune to an f# and while playing my high B would be nearly a quarter step sharp. My other notes also had some serious problems my low D being flat, my middle c being sharp, and my middle b being really sharp. I tried to adjust, however the problem was so bad that while the adjustments to my embouchure helped, still had intonation issues. I had my saxophone repaired thinking it was some leaks causing the problem. They were able to repair these leaks, however after I got it back I was still having intonation issues. I then tried going back to my meyer and that helped some, but it didn't solve it. I had really good intonation on the yas-23 and I thought the yas-62 would make my intonation better because Yamaha is known for high quality horns with good intonation, but ever since I have been playing it I have these serious issues. it has really damaged my confidence in my playing because I can't really trust that the note is going to be right like I could with the 23. Do any of you guys know what I should do to fix this? Any help would be appreciated.

ps I also recently started playing tenor and my setup is a yts-475 and an otto link 7* ny and I haven't had any problems with intonation on tenor.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,499 Posts