Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

Just wondering if I could get some advice on an alto sax jazz mouthpiece. A little background about me: been playing since 4th grade, but I wouldn't really call myself advanced--intermediate at best, and that may be too generous. Anyway, I'm currently a college student (not majoring in music but taking lessons) and after focusing on classical for the first semester (playing a Vandoren Optimum AL3) the focus is now on jazz and improvisation. Long story short, my instructor wants me to get a "jazz" mouthpiece. Don't get me wrong--I completely believe that the reed, conception, breathing, tone exercises, etc. are what REALLY produce a great sound (I'm sure Cannonball could've easily rocked a Yamaha 4C), but I was thinking of trying a Meyer 5M? Any other beginner/not too crazy options you'd recommend? Not anything too extreme. I really appreciate the suggestions/advice/input and am looking forward to learning on this forum and hopefully becoming a better musician in the process.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,334 Posts
Same basic reply as the one I gave you for reeds. There is no such thing as a "jazz" mouthpiece, regardless of what some "experts" claim. Make the horn sound good and then play whatever kind of music you want to play. Besides, everyone's embouchure and tonal concepts are different, so mouthpiece advice is cheap, easy, and inaccurate.

Now, we will see a listing of everyone's favorite mouthpiece. Mine is a Brilhart Ebolin 3* - works great for me. DAVE

·
Registered
80 Posts
Any mouthpiece can be used for jazz, it's really based on how it feels to you and over all you will still sound like you no matter what mp you play on. Meyer is highly recommended for jazz. Although, I tried it before and it just wasn't for me.

·
2,382 Posts
I would consider a Meyer 5 or 6 a very good mouthpiece, flexible enough to allow good flexibility a large sound palette