Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi
i've been playing H&A selmer bundy alto. i think i've been playing saxophone for about 1-2 years. though its tone is nice, and so many friends say so, but i'd like to get a new one. i want a saxophone with darker sound. but with limited budget, not more than 1000 usd i guess. what should i get? thanks

·
Registered
397 Posts
Hello and welcome to SOTW. I don't know much here but still feel like sharing my 2 cents..

I see your other thread stating you're in Indonesia and there's no shop carrying a lot of gear for you to try, so your question would be a little tough to answer.

What mouthpiece/reed/lig are you using now? Often I find changing these setups would already make a noticible difference on the same horn. It's more affordable an investment in most cases. Don't know about bundy alto, but I've played a '60-'70s bundy tenor and it's tone is quite acceptable as a student horn.

You can start the search within your local group/class/sax player circle; have others (better if you can find a more experienced player) test your horn with your setup, or test their horn/setup. This should give you some ideas, and if they can get those equipment into Indonesia maybe you can get yours too.

I find some learners with 1-2 yrs mileage, at least for whom I know (myself once included), thought our setup were too bright and went looking for darker equipement, but indeed we sounded too thin and we're looking for is a fatter, deeper tone. This may not be your case, but no harm giving it a thought...

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2012
3,095 Posts