Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK Guys

Ive been working on altissimo everyday for a few months now. Im fine up to F# but G3, no way. Im using fingerings from Teals art of saxophone which has multiple alternate fingerings but G is still not happening - with any of them. :(

Has anyone got hints on fingering a G3 on a V1 tenor?
Any other hints and tips that might make any of this happen?

I know I should be patient but Ive been at it a while and its driving me mad. Horn is in tiptop shape so no chance of blaming equipment either.

Any help appreciated

Dave.

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
So how long are you playing sax? I started overtones and altissimo after playing sax for 5 years. My perfect G3 on my MK VI tenor is left hand front F, right hand side Bb and F#

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've been playing for 16 years.
I know its late in the day to be learning altissimo but I always thought rightly or wrongly, that I should concentrate on getting patterns/licks/sound etc absolutely nailed in the keyed range before venturing into the higher octaves.

I'm now playing more rock and pop than jazz and altissimo is pretty much a requirement. Also trying to develop my sound further and working on altissimo seems to help across the whole range. Maybe should have worked on it sooner.

I'll try that fingering - thanks Dr

Dave.

·
Registered
137 Posts
2 fingerings that I use are:
#1 Just the front F key - I use this one 98% of the time
#2 LH 1 and 3 plus RH 3.

some folks like to have the front F tweaked a little bit so that the key doesn't open as far. Maybe you can try fingering a 1st leger line B and gradually opening the front F with your right hand. Know what I mean? Maybe that cursed G3 will pop right out if F isn't opened so far? G3 is the hardest, and most temperamental note in the altissimo IMO. Also...practicing overtones WILL make altissimo easier, even if not right away.

·