Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can't seem to find much information anywhere about the Allora brand (either Allora Vienna or Allora Paris.) Does anyone have any experience with them, specifically the baris?

I'm a college student trying to buy my own. Mostly for marching/pep band but I also might use it for concert band. (Yes I know I'm crazy. Now that we've covered that let's move on, shall we? Sorry I've gotten way too much crap from former band directors and my dad about it.) Note the "college" part. Aka I don't have a lot of money. By the end of summer I should have enough to buy the $2300 Allora Vienna (maybe the $2500 Allora Paris) bari I see on WWBW, but I can't find a lot of information about the brand, even on here, and I want to be careful and make sure I'm not buying a complete piece of crap. It doesn't need to be the most amazing horn in the world- I'm not even a music major or anything- but I don't want it to start falling apart on me, you know?

Also if anyone has any other suggestions for <$3k baris that'd be cool too, but I don't want a fixer-upper or anything.
(I know I'm not going to end up as lucky as my friend who managed to get a $20-something hundred YBS-52 on craigslist :/ )

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
saxophone, flutes and lil' bit of clarinet
7,372 Posts
Allora is a name owned by WWBW. They source instruments in Taiwan or China and put the name Allora. I'm not being negative. It's the same as Sears selling dishwashers made by other companies and putting their brand "Kenmore" on it. Still a good dishwasher. These are called stencil in the sax world. I don't have any direct experience with these baritones, but they are probably decent student instruments.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,511 Posts
You can be negative if you want, Soy....it's OK.