Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 8 or 9 years experience on the alto, but I've only recently returned after a decade hiatus. I've never had a problem with mouth leakage, and I still don't on my Selmer C*, Vandoren Optimum AL4 or Jody Jazz HR 5. I'd like to offload some of these mouthpieces in favor of the Rascher, as I mostly play classical and it is pretty free-blowing on my 1931 Pan American.....But I leak air when I play the Rascher mouthpiece. I looked through the fixes for leaking air, and mouth position or fatigue doesn't seem to be my problem as it starts immediately and doesn't change when I take in more or less mpc.

I'm sure I'm the problem, and I'd appreciate any suggestions on what I'm doing wrong.

·
Registered
478 Posts
I played a Rascher for my classical setup for the past two years, and I think you're having trouble because the Rascher piece is a lot more resistant than the others you listed because it has a much smaller tip opening. What reeds are you using?

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm playing Vandoren Blue Box 2.0. I do tire quickly on the Rascher, and I don't mind putting in the work, but I don't want to develop any bad habits as I work up my stamina.

·
Registered
478 Posts
Until I switched to a legere I was using V12 3 1/2s and sometimes 4s. I would definitely recommend working up your reed strength, because at around a .40 tip you need a heavier reed. Just focus on long tones without leaking air for a couple weeks and your embochure muscles will strengthen

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,284 Posts
Do you still leak when you take in lots of mouthpiece and pull your corners in like a drawstring?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,576 Posts