Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello. i am an ex professional musician and am considering the purchase of a cheap sopranino to play with my son, who is learning the alto. i played mostly soprano back when and have owned a mark v1, sa series 1, yamaha 62, buffet s1. could anyone with experience or an opinion give me input regarding the pros and cons of the yani copies over the selmer copies, fingering wise/comfort/tuning or anything helpful. i have enjoyed reading this site and looking forward to any inform i might glean. thanks for your time.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,888 Posts
could anyone with experience or an opinion give me input regarding the pros and cons of the yani copies over the selmer copies,
If you are talking about copies, then you would need to specify which copies, I believe there are many different copies out there. e.g. not all copies of a yanagisawa would be the same. And of course not all copies are exact copies.

I doubt anyone has tried all the different possible contenders, I have only played a BW which I believe is a copy of a Yanagisawa. It had some problems, but I then found out it was a prototype and the company since addressed those issues and it's a fine horn. I have played many different cheap chinese sopraninos, I'm not exactly sure whether they were copies of Selmer or Yanagisawa or what, but most left me disappointed. I can't remember the makes, because these were at a trade show and any out there would be rebadged anyway. The only other brand I remember was Chateau or Tenon, not bad but nothing inspiring.

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter #3