Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an Akai EWI 4000s, which I've been playing for about three years. In addition to the Patchman soundbank for the EWI, I also have a Roland JV 1010 with the Patchman soundbank and a Yamaha VL70-m with the Patchman turbo chip. (Yes, there may be a trend here. :)

The external synths live in a rack case with a mixer and a power conditioner/distributor, and this setup works very well for playing at home and for the occasional solo gig.

...but I also play clarinet (that's where I started, more years ago than I want to think about), in community concert bands and other local ensembles, and recently I've been thinking that it would be fun to use the EWI for that, too -- but for that my needs are quite different, and that's where my question comes in.

Specifically, I'm looking for something which is easily portable, and which provides accurate emulation of "real" woodwind and brass instruments. I'm aware of the following options:

1) Buy a second VL70-m and Patchman chip. (I'd really prefer to leave the one I have in the rack, and to leave the rack at home, for the purposes of this discussion). This has the advantage that it works well, and I already know how to use it. The disadvantage is that it's a discontinued product and I don't know where to buy one. (Coincidentally, Patchman has one for sale right now on their used gear page, but as I don't live in the United States that doesn't help me at all.)

2) Buy a Windows or Mac laptop and use either SampleModeling or Wallander WIVI instruments. These both have good reputations, but I have absolutely no experience with softsynths and don't know where to start.