Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,

Though I've been the beneficiary of its many posts for years now, I've never posted to this site, so I hope you'll forgive me if I've posted to the wrong group or inadvertently violated one or more of the posting rules - constructive criticism happily accepted :).

After putting my beloved Mark VI alto aside for many years after my son was born, I've been getting back into playing now that he's 8, this time on tenor. I've been borrowing a nice Conn 10M from a friend for three years, while looking for a horn I could own. The Conn has needed constant attention, and is getting to the point where I don't want to put more money into a horn that's not mine (the owner won't sell). Due to family and work constraints, I can't easily travel around checking out horns, and because I'm not an expert, feel I need someone who is to vouch for something I'm going to spend thousands of dollars on, and so have avoided internet/long distance sales.

I have however been keeping tabs on what comes through our local horn shop in San Francisco, and was notified yesterday of two horns I might like: A 1952 SBA ($9,000) and a nearly new Reference 36 ($7,000). I played both briefly today and was allowed to take the Reference home for a few days to play. The purveyor of the shop is a widely-respected repair person and he vouches for both horns.

I'm not on a quest for the perfect horn, and though taken in at times by the Great Vintage Search, I've waited for years for an affordable, good condition VI with no success. Actually, I love the sound of the 10M and that of my friends who play Balanced Actions - but suffer from tendonitis in both my hands (I'm a data analyst) and the ergonomics on my 10M have been challenging at times.