Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, i am a (small)14 year old, and I would like some advice.
I have been playing the alto for nearly 4 years and I am doing my grade 7 (I have got a YAS 275). But the school swing band needs a new tenor saxophone player because the tenor saxophonist has left, (i was playing 1st alto) but now I will be playing 1st tenor. Here is my dilema, because I will have to get a tenor there might be no point in geting a student model(because im doing grade 7 alto) so i have been loooking at pro's (like the yamaha 62 or yanigisawa t-991 and t-901).
But soon I will need to upgrade my alto. So I was wondering wether I should get a professional tenor.... or Student tenor but get a better alto?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
First, welcome to SOTW!

As a general rule, it's usually best to put your money into your main instrument. A student model Yamaha tenor with a good jazz mouthpiece should do fine. Also, unless you are in the US where there's a wash of vintage US saxes, you might want to consider a good non-Japanese Asian import for your tenor. It's reported that Bauhaus Walstein makes a great inexpensive tenor. There's other good less expensive choices from Taiwan.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks enviroguy for you help!:)
what does everybody else think? i would really appreciate as much advice a possible!

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,840 Posts
.......on the other hand the best value for money has to be a second hand reliable sax and I think that if you find a Yamaha 23 for cheap and playing well ......... you couldn't go wrong with it!

·
Registered
111 Posts
Take also into account that if you buy a Yamaha or Selmer you'll be able to re-sell it with a good cash back and this is interesting in case you think you can desire a better one for the future.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2010
3,310 Posts